Dear Abby Archive

I read the following Dear Abby years ago.  It made such an impression on me that I felt the need to search for it on the internet.  Read on:

DEAR ABBY: I am a 36-year-old college dropout whose lifelong ambition was to be a physician. I have a very good job selling pharmaceutical supplies, but my heart is still in the practice of medicine. I do volunteer work at the local hospital on my time off, and people tell me I would have made a wonderful doctor.

If I go back to college and get my degree, then go to medical school, do my internship and finally get into the actual practice of medicine, it will take me seven years! But, Abby, in seven years I will be 43 years old. What do you think? — UNFULFILLED IN PHILLY

DEAR UNFULFILLED: And how old will you be in seven years if you don’t go to medical school?

Leave a Reply

